Race Trophies and Awards

The Sail Training International Friendship Trophy 

Since 2003 the principal award at the end of each race series is the Sail Training International Friendship Trophy. This trophy epitomises the objective of the races and is awarded to the vessel which, in the opinion of the entire race fleet through a secret ballot, has done most to help further international understanding and friendship during the races.

The Tall Ships Races 2003 - Mir (Russia)
The Tall Ships Races 2004 - Mir (Russia)
The Tall Ships Races 2005 - Shabab Oman (Oman)
The Tall Ships Races 2006 - Juan de Langara (Spain)
The Tall Ships Races Baltic 2007 - Lord Nelson (UK)
The Tall Ships Races Mediterranean 2007 - Guayas (Ecuador)
The Tall Ships Races 2008 - Shabab Oman (Oman)
Funchal 500 Tall Ships Regatta 2008 - Shabab Oman (Oman)
The Tall Ships Races 2009 - Sharki (Poland)
Tall Ships Atlantic Challenge 2009 - Urania (Netherlands)
Garibaldi Tall Ships Regatta 2010 - Pandora (Italy)
Historical Seas Tall Ships Regatta 2010 - Shabab Oman (Oman)
The Tall Ships Races 2010 - Shabab Oman (Oman)
The Tall Ships Races 2011 - Wylde Swan (Netherlands)
The Tall Ships Races 2012 - Si Iv (Estonia)
The Tall Ships Races 2013 - Shabab Oman (Oman)
The Tall Ships Races 2014 - Fryderyk Chopin (Poland)
The Tall Ships Races 2015 - Fryderyk Chopin (Poland)
The Tall Ships Races 2016 - Fryderyk Chopin (Poland)
SCF Black Sea Tall Ships Regatta 2016 - Pogoria (Poland)
The Tall Ships Races 2017 - Shabab Oman II (Oman)


The Torbay Cup 

Presented by Torbay, UK, the first port to host a Tall Ships Race, to a trainee for outstanding individual achievement and personal effort.

2006: Joshua Ormond, Moosk (UK)
2007 Baltic: Anestasia Zolotareva, Shtandart (Russia)
2007 Mediterranean: Matthiys Jansen, Stad Amsterdam (Netherlands)
2008: Arturo Morales Desachy, Cuauhtemoc (Mexico)
2009: Matties Kannegiesser, Aglaia (Austria)
2010: Stephanie Chung, Pelican of London (UK)
2011: Kieran Maxwell, Spirit of Fairbridge (UK)
2012: Holly Byrne, Stavros S Niarcho (UK)
2013: Yujun Xu, Gulden Leeuw (China)
2014: Gerlinde Laureys, Antwerp Flyer (Belgium)
2015: Josh Barr, Maybe (UK)
2016: Peter Threipland, Lord Nelson (UK)
2017: Karol Zdanowski, Pogoria (Poland) 

The Shipping Federation of Great Britain Perpetual Trophy

Presented to a ship for their commitment and loyalty to The Tall Ships' Races over the years (awarded at the annual conference)

2005: Asgard II (Ireland)
2006: Georg Stage (Denmark)
2007: Mir (Russia)
2008: Alexander von Humboldt (Germany)
2009: Antwerp Flyer (Belgium)
2010: Christian Radich (Norway)
2011: Dar Mlodziezy (Poland)
2012: Lord Nelson (UK)

2013: Shabab Oman (Oman)

2014: Tomidi (Belgium)


The Royal Thames Yacht Club Challenge Cup

Presented to the best newcomer to a Sail Training international race or regatta.

2004: Polarrev (Belgium)
2005: Tarangini (India)
2006: Bodrum (Turkey)
2007: Tunas Samudera (Malasya)
2008: Cisne Branco (Brazil)
2009: Tre Kronor of Stockholm (Sweden)
2010: Mythos (Greece)
2011: Prolific (UK)
2012: Kapitan Borchardt (Poland)
2013: Skonnerten Jylland (Denmark) 

2014: Rah Naward (Pakistan)